Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was working up a wizard specializing in illusion for a buddy and ran into a conundrum. You get additional spells for specializing, and this reads as:

One additional spell from the wizard's specialty school per spell level each day.

Does this mean they can cast:

  • a single additional illusion spell of level 1,
  • two additional illusion spells of level 2,
  • three additional illusion spells of level 3,
  • (..)
  • nine additional illusion spells of level 9

That seems a bit "top heavy" to me. How many extra spells does the wizard get to cast?

share|improve this question
    
It would only have the effect you claim if it said something like “Each spell level gains one additional spell from the wizard’s specialty school per spell level each day.” – KRyan 9 hours ago
up vote 15 down vote accepted

The wizards gets to cast a single extra spell of each spell level:

  • a single additional illusion spell of level 1,
  • a single additional illusion spell of level 2,
  • a single additional illusion spell of level 3,
  • (..)
  • a single additional illusion spell of level 9

While the wording may be ambiguous enough to allow both interpretations I believe the correct is the one described in this answer because the alternative would be rather ridiculous.

Further, here's an official evoker and an official diviner. They use the rules as described above rather than, for example, getting increasingly bigger piles of higher-level spells.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.