Replace or delete your video
You can delete any video you uploaded to your YouTube channel. You can’t replace a video since any new video uploads will get a new URL, but you can edit the existing video.
Delete your own videos
You can remove any videos that you uploaded from your own Google Account. If you delete a video, it's permanently deleted — you can't recover it through YouTube. If you’d like to watch the video in the future, make sure you have a backup saved.
- Sign in to YouTube Studio.
- From the left Menu, select Videos.
- Hover over the video you’d like to delete and select More
Delete forever
.
Creator Studio Classic instructions
- Sign in to YouTube.
- Go to Creator Studio by clicking your profile picture
Creator Studio.
- In the left Menu, select Video Manager
Videos.
- Click the checkbox next to the video(s) you want to delete.
- At the top of the page, choose Actions
Delete.
After you delete a video, the video URL and title will no longer be visible or searchable in YouTube Analytics. Data associated with the video such as Watch time will still be part of aggregate reports, but will not be attributed to the deleted video.
Replace a video
You can’t replace a video because any new video you upload to YouTube will get a new URL. Instead, you can make changes to an existing video:
- Trim your video: On a computer, you can cut out the beginning, middle, or end of your video.
- Add cards to your video: You can use cards to add new elements to your video. Cards can show other video titles, polls, specific websites, etc.
- Change your video's title and description: You can organize and make changes to your video's title, category, description, and privacy settings.