Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I have a Staff of the Woodlands, which allows me to cast the spell Awaken. Awaken has an expensive material component of "an agate worth at least 1,000 gp, which the spell consumes". Is that agate required and consumed when Awaken is cast through the Staff, or does casting it through the Staff somehow modify or remove that requirement?

share|improve this question
up vote 16 down vote accepted

No they do not require components at all including somatic or verbal for that matter. So casting an Arcane Lock from a Staff of the Magi doesn't require the 25g worth of gold dust nor would the Staff of the Woodlands require it for Awaken. It may seem "overpowered" but the typical druid doesn't go around making sentient armies of animals for good reason.

DMG p141 the section on magical items and casting spells from them.

The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level, doesn't expend any of the user's spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item's description says otherwise.

share|improve this answer
    
My assumption, and ruling in my own games, would have been the opposite. Thank you! – THiebert 13 hours ago
    
In 3.5, wands and staffs charged with spells that require expensive material components have to be made with those components and have the cost baked into a higher cost for the item. Is that not also the case in 5e (i.e., does a Staff of the Woodlands cost more than a Staff of Circle of Power)? – chrylis 13 mins ago

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.